The Bundesliga and Me #1 – Andy James

21 Jul

With just over a week to go before Borussia Dortmund kick off the new season at home to Hamburg, it’s time for another new feature on DieBundesligaUK.  Put simply, we put five questions to some prominent, English-speaking Bundesliga figures to find out a bit more about them and how they became involved in German football.

First up is editor of Bundesliga.com, Andy James. Andy studied in Nuremberg as part of his degree and took a chance by moving to Munich permanently after graduating. The move seems to have paid off as he now writes for FIFA.com on all things Germany, reports on German clubs and their progress in both European competitions for uefa.com and commentates for various international broadcasters…. I think that covers most of it, Andy? Anyway, you can follow Andy at @andybundi on Twitter. Let’s get started!

My earliest Bundesliga memory is…

Although I knew a fair bit about the Bundesliga from the Champions League and Championship Manager (obviously!) beforehand, I’d have to say that my first visual memory of it is when it used to be on Sky Sports in the early 2000s. I have a distinct memory of watching Claudio Pizarro and Roque Santa Cruz playing up front for Bayern. And Alan McInally was the pundit!

Andy has clearly had more success in Germany than Mr McInally did

 My favourite Bundesliga moment is…

I’m going to go for a recent one here: Nuri Sahin’s strike in Dortmund’s 3-1 victory over Bayern at the Allianz Arena last term. I think everyone was behind BVB owing to the fantastic football they’d been playing, but still there was a feeling that defeat in Munich would see their title charge disintegrate. Thankfully they were brilliant on the day and it was a victory all round for exciting football!

My favourite Bundesliga player of all time is….

It’s hard to look past the big stars of today, more of which are arriving all the time. Ribery and Robben are a class above, and I’m a big fan of Shinji Kagawa based on the six months of him we had last season. Going back to my childhood, I always liked Jürgen Klinsmann, Mehmet Scholl and Oliver Kahn – mainly from watching Champions League.

 My favourite Bundesliga ground is…

I would love to say the Signal Iduna Park (Westfalenstadion) but unfortunately I’ve never been there, yet. Stadium-wise Bayern is streets ahead with the Allianz – it’s modern, massive and, despite what some people say, that atmosphere isn’t too bad when FCB are playing well. The Champions League semi-final against Lyon in 2010 was particularly loud…

 I love the Bundesliga because…

The unpredictability factor. Who could have guessed that Dortmund would storm to the title last season with such a young side? Or that Hannover and Mainz would make it into Europe? It was one of the best seasons ever and a great one to be involved in. Furthermore, the quality is improving all the time – as evidenced by the Bundesliga overtaking Serie A in the UEFA coefficients recently. For fear of sounding boring, I also like how well-organised the league is and the way it is marketed, not to mention the emphasis on youth development. Even the Premier League could learn a thing or two on the latter, as well as the 50+1 rule which I think should become compulsory throughout Europe.

'I'm not listening': Not sure Herr Kind would agree with you there, Andy!

 

Many thanks again to a top man in Andy for his time and effort as he’s clearly a very busy bloke!

Leave a Reply

